in Hawaii is easy!!!
1 - Apply online.
The fee is $65.00 and is valid for one year.
2 - Meet with a license agent.
A few weeks before you arrive in Hawaii call and schedule an appointment with one of the agents listed below. Proof of age and identification in the form of a certified copy of a birth certificate or a driver's license must be presented to the marriage license agent. Both of you must be 18 years of age.
Divorced? Legal documents are required with record of final divorce decree in the state of which it was processed, if divorced less than 1 year.
Blood tests are not required by the State of Hawaii. There are no state residence or U.S. citizenship requirements. The wedding does not need witnesses.
The wedding must be performed within 30 days from the day the marriage license is issued by a local agent.
A marriage license and marriage certificate are different documents. The marriage license obtained from the local agent allows a marriage to take place. The marriage certificate is a document that shows a marriage has been performed. Your marriage performer will file the document online after the ceremony. You will be able to print out a copy and you will also be sent a paper copy.
Marriage License Agents on Kauai
Walter (Kamika) Smith (808) 821-6882
Darlene Kapana (808) 821-6880
Jill Kosen (808) 246-2779
Carrice Gardner (808) 274-3100
Jacqueline Garces (808) 246-5025
Poipu - Koloa
Ellen O’Connell (808) 742-7305
Dayna Santos (808) 378-4290
Jamie Listman (808) 378-4290
3- Sign the license.
After the wedding, the marriage certificate is signed and then filed online by your officiant with the Department of Health. You will receive one certified copy of the marriage certificate at no charge, which will be sent to you by mail after the wedding. The state can take 30-120 days to complete this process.
If a marriage certificate is needed sooner you can apply online for one or more expedited copies.